Contemplation at 1am.We have this professor…

This professor who expects more from us. Who doesn’t settle (forgive the term) for half-assed works. She does not settle for mediocracy.

She can come off as harsh and really hurtful were the words I had read in feedback to my writing.

But this professor is someone you wanna impress. She is someone you wanna become. She didn’t get to where she is now by settling for ‘just fine’ or ‘good enough’. She went for as-near-to-perfect-as-possible.

And in her hurtful words, I had found inspiration.

A new force or drive that tells me I should fall in love with my field. It seems I sometimes forget why I’m here studying literature.

I forget that little but very important detail and it affects what I produce.

The force, It tells me that I shouldn’t give up. Tells me that I should work on bettering myself and building myself up. For my sake and nobody else’s.

I may have complained about those words. I may have held back tears or even allowed a few to slip when I was alone but I haven’t thanked my professor yet.

I’m hoping my good work would do the thanking for me. This renewed effort of mine is inspired by her.

If I fail in impressing her, I still want to be proud that I tried and that I personally improved even just a little.

A paper plan she looked over earlier came back in positive face. So far so good.

Leave a Reply

